It is not uncommon for college students to blow off steam by drinking, which is why many drunk driving accidents and arrests involve students in college. One drive after imbibing too much could result in your arrested for driving under the influence. Illinois takes driving while intoxicated seriously, and DUI charges can have severe long-term consequences.
In 2016, 26 percent of drunk drivers involved in fatal crashes were of the ages 21-24. Facing DUI charges can be troubling, especially when you are young. It is wise to educate yourself on how your life may change if you find yourself in this situation.
How will this affect my daily life?
If you are charged with a DUI in college, it is likely that you are a first-time offender. The state of Illinois considers a first-time DUI conviction a misdemeanor. This means that the court will suspend your license for at least six months, or have a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) installed in your vehicle. You may need to find alternate transportation for the time that your license is suspended.
How will this affect my finances?
College students are well aware of the cost of education. Obtaining a DUI is more expensive than most people realize. On average, a DUI conviction in Illinois costs $18,030. This includes BAIID installation, driver’s license reinstatement, educational rehab classes, high-risk insurance and legal fees.
How will this affect my career opportunities?
A misdemeanor will go on your criminal record. While it is not impossible to find employment with a DUI on your record, it is much more difficult. Your DUI arrest and/or conviction will show up on most background checks that the companies you apply for complete. Most employers require you to report your DUI, even if you already have a job. This could end in your termination.
Deciding to drive after drinking can have severe repercussions. Educating yourself on Illinois laws can help you navigate life after a DUI arrests and convictions.